Can I claim Powerball prize anonymously?

Can I claim Powerball prize anonymously?

Winning the Powerball jackpot is a life-changing event, but for some winners, the sudden influx of wealth brings concerns about privacy and security. One common question among Powerball winners is whether they can claim their prize anonymously. Let's delve into the possibilities and considerations for claiming a Powerball prize while safeguarding your identity.

Can I Claim a Powerball Prize Anonymously?

While claiming a Powerball prize anonymously depends on the state where you purchased the ticket, the majority of states do not allow winners to remain completely anonymous.

The winner has two options for receiving the prize: a cash payment less taxes or one instant payment followed by 29 annual installments that increase by 5% every year owing to inflation.

While the chances of winning the Powerball jackpot are one in 292,201,338.00. If you are lucky enough to match every number including the red ball, you can claim your prize anonymously in several states inside the United States for security purposes.

States where you can make an anonymous prize claim:

Only 17 states currently permit anonymous prize collections. In certain cases, the size of the award is irrelevant, while in others it is contingent upon the sum. We list the states in which they are below:

Arizona: Prize must be greater than $100,000

Delaware: The amount does not matter

Georgia: Prize must be greater than $250,000

Illinois: Prize must be greater than $250,000

Kansas: The amount doesn't matter

Maryland: The amount doesn't matter

Michigan: Prize must be greater than $100,000, only applicable in state games

Minnesota: Prize must be greater than $10,000

Mississippi: The amount doesn't matter

Missouri: The amount doesn't matter

Montana: The amount doesn't matter

New Jersey: No matter the amount

North Dakota: No matter the amount

South Carolina: The amount doesn't matter

Texas: Prize must be greater than $1 million dollars

Virginia: The prize must be greater than $10 million dollars

West Virginia: Prize must be greater than $1 million dollars

Wyoming: The amount does not matter

How many possible ways are there to win the Powerball?

To win a prize in Powerball, there are various combinations of numbers that can match. Here are all the possible ways to win the Powerball:

5 numbers + Powerball: Jackpot / Accumulated bag

5 numbers: $1,000,000

4 numbers + Powerball: $50,000

4 numbers: $100

3 numbers + Powerball: $100

3 numbers : $7

2 numbers + Powerball: $7

1 number + Powerball: $4

Powerball: $4

How late can you buy Powerball tickets?

The cutoff time for purchasing Powerball tickets varies by state and is determined by the rules and regulations of the lottery commission in each jurisdiction. In most states, ticket sales for Powerball typically end at least an hour before the drawing takes place.

It's essential to check with your state's lottery commission or visit their official website to find the specific cutoff time for ticket sales in your area. Some states may also have different cutoff times for purchasing tickets in-person at authorized retailers versus online or through other sales channels. Additionally, ticket sales may be temporarily suspended during system maintenance or prior to high jackpot drawings.

Depending on your state of play and the corresponding time zone, we've included the deadline for buying Powerball tickets below:

Arizona: 6:59 p.m. MDT

Arkansas: 8:59 p.m. CT

California: 7:00 pm PT

North Carolina: 9:59 p.m. ET

South Carolina: 9:50 p.m. ET

Colorado: 7:30 p.m. MDT

Connecticut: 10:00 pm ET

North Dakota: 8:58 pm CT

South Dakota: 9:00 pm CT

Delaware: 9:45 p.m. ET

District of Columbia: 9:45 p.m. ET

Florida: 10:00 pm ET

Georgia: 10:00 pm ET

Idaho: 7:54 p.m. MDT

Illinois: 8:59 pm CT

Indiana: 9:59 p.m. ET

Iowa: 8:59 p.m. CT

Kansas: 8:59 p.m. CT

Kentucky: 9:00 p.m. CT

Louisiana: 9:00 pm CT

Maine: 9:50 p.m. ET

Maryland: 10:00 pm ET

Massachusetts: 9:50 p.m. ET

Michigan: 9:45 pm ET

Minnesota: 9:00 pm CT

Missouri: 8:59 pm CT

Montana: 8:00 pm MDT

Nebraska: 9:00 pm CT

New Hampshire: 9:50 p.m. ET

New Jersey: 9:59 p.m. ET

New Mexico: 8:00 pm MDT

New York: 10:00 pm ET

Ohio: 10:00 pm ET

Oklahoma: 8:59 p.m. CT

Oregon: 7:00 pm PT

Pennsylvania: 9:59 p.m. ET

Rhode Island: 9:50 p.m. ET

Tennessee: 9:00 pm CT

Texas: 9:00 pm CT

Vermont: 9:50 p.m. ET

Virginia: 10:00 pm ET

Washington: 6:45 p.m. PT

West Virginia: 9:59 p.m. ET

Wisconsin: 9:00 pm CT

Wyoming: 7:59 pm MDT

Virgin Islands: 10:00 pm

Puerto Rico: 10:59 pm

left angle white icon
right angle white icon